The August 17, 2017 BIM 360 Docs update delivers highly-requested collaboration features, including:
- Ability to edit existing markups
- “Private” and “published’ options for increased control over markup visibility
- New “highlight” markup tool and updated markup toolbar
- Improved folder notification feature – now with the option to “subscribe” to a folder and its subfolders at the same time
- Updated RFI workflow settings
- Upload enhancements and usability improvements
- New version (1.6) of the Android app, with the ability to create private and published markups as well as other RFI and markup improvements
Markup Editing, Visibility, and Control
In response to your feedback, we have updated the markup tools, including the ability to edit existing markups and control markup visibility.
Edit Markups: Now you can edit existing markups (that you created). To edit a markup, select the markup from the markup panel and choose “edit” from the menu. Use the markup tools to change the size, shape, color, to add additional details, and select “done.” Your changes will be immediately saved and the changes are tracked in the Activity Log.
Visibility Control: Until now, all users with “view” permission could create markups that were viewed by all users. To provide you with more control over who can publish markups to the entire team (while maintaining the ability for all users to create markups for their own use), we have updated the markup feature to support the creation of both “private” (can only be seen by the individual user) and “published” (can be seen by all users) markups. All users with View permission (or higher) can create “private” markups, while users with “edit” permission (and above) can publish markups to be seen by everyone.
By default, markups are “private” but can be changed to “published” (if the user has edit or above permission) in the markup toolbar (while creating the markup) or in the markup panel (after the markup is created).
Updated terminology: In response to user feedback and to accommodate the new editing and publishing control settings, we have updated the terminology for managing markups.
- Before this release, markups had a status (open or closed), and open markups would automatically carry over to the next version (automatic slip-sheeting). Closed markups would continue to display on the “closed” version and would not display on subsequent versions.
- In this release, we have maintained the critical “automatic slip sheeting” and carry over unresolved markups from one version to the next, but we have made some important usability changes. You can now “archive” (instead of “close”) published markups and “delete” private markups. In addition, if you “archive” a published markup, it will no longer display by default on that version (but you can choose to view it by selecting “show archive” in the markup panel).
New tool, new toolbar: We have added a “highlighter” tool with color and thickness options. We have also updated the toolbar to include “undo” and “redo” controls for markup creation and editing.
Improved Notifications for Folder (and Subfolder) Activity
Now when you subscribe to a folder, you have the option to subscribe to its subfolders. If you choose this setting, you will get notified whenever new files are uploaded to the folder or its subfolders. If a subfolder is added later, it will inherit the subscription setting, ensuring that you are notified of any important changes.
RFI Workflow Setup
We have updated the RFI workflow setup by changing the workflow “roles” to reflect the workflow actions, such as “Creator” and “Reviewer” instead of “Subcontractor” and “Architect.” This usability improvement, based on your feedback, does not impact the workflow itself or any previous settings. You can still assign any user, role, or company to each workflow step.
New Upload User Experience – “Project Files” Folders
In April, we updated the upload process and user experience for “Plans” folders. In this release, we have updated the upload user experience for “Project Files” folders. As before, you can choose multiple files to upload at once, and the confirmation dialog looks like this:
Once you select “continue” the files will upload. You can still see the progress in the thumbnail view as well as in the Publish Log.
Version 1.6 for Android
The latest version of the Android app includes:
■ Support for viewing and creating private and published Markups.
■ Create issues on a project-level.
■ View a project-level RFI list and details.
■ View Issues and Markups in Project files.