Announcing the AEC Excellence Awards 2019: Call for Entries Now Open!


Are you an innovator in the AEC industry? The 8th annual AEC Excellence Awards competition is now open for submissions! This is your chance to showcase the ways your organization is stretching the limits of design and planning to conjure inspiring infrastructure projects.

The awards recognize the talented teams that embrace Autodesk software to create innovative processes that deliver complex infrastructure, building and construction projects. These include roads & highways, civil structures such as tunnels and bridges, transportation projects, airports, ports, rail and land development plans, as well as water treatment plants. Autodesk is looking for your success stories and innovative uses of technology in infrastructure design.

Receive International Recognition

Autodesk has assembled an international panel of respected industry experts to judge and score the project entries, and to find the best of the best.

The winners’ prizes include a trip to Autodesk University in Las Vegas, international media coverage and a feature article about their project on A custom-made trophy and logo will commemorate the crowning achievement.

Showcasing the Future in Infrastructure Design

Submit your project to reveal how you’ve pushed the boundaries of what’s possible with AR, generative design, BIM + GIS, IoT, robotics, smart data, automated design, DfMA, modular design, offsite construction, prefabrication or VR. Show your peers how you’ve mastered technology for the design and realization of small, medium and large-sized projects. Last year’s winning trio in the infrastructure category displayed visionary use of the Autodesk AEC Collection during the planning and construction of some demanding projects:

  •  Empresa Desarrollo Urbano (EDU) used BIM tools for a microscale urban planning approach towards building safer communities in Medellín, Colombia’s second largest city.
  • China Railway Siyuan Survey and Design Group Co., Ltd employed BIM to manage the input of a 50+ design and engineering team working on the Wuhan-Xiangyang-Shiyan Railway.
  • The Chongqing Municipal Research Institute of Design used drones and GIS data to speed up their design process. The 28-kilometer Parallel Line of the Fourth Diversion Expressway features tunnels, bridges and interchanges.

Celebrating Innovation and Drive for Smarter Cities

The AEC Excellence Awards also honor the Innovator of the Year – a pioneer embracing technology and processes that are new to the AEC industry. This award celebrates the individual who drives transformation and productivity, resulting in smarter cities and more responsive buildings and infrastructure.

The finalists for each category will be revealed in August 2019. The winners will be announced at an exclusive event the following month before being honored at the Autodesk University awards celebration in November.

How to Enter the AEC Excellence Awards

There’s no entry fee and the deadline for submissions is June 4, 2019.

For more information, including the rules, criteria, and how to enter, visit the official website for the 2019 AEC Excellence Awards – co-sponsored by Autodesk, Construction Dive, SmartCities Dive, and Informed Infrastructure.

Submit your project for a chance to win!

Go to

Comments Closed

There are no comments