twitter youtube facebook linkedin email
Connect with:

Under the Hood - All things PDM and PLM

PLM

The Rise of Cloud Technology in Manufacturing

Christa Prokos
February 14, 2022

Returning to work during a global pandemic is a different experience from one person to another depending on your industry, geography, and the type of work you do. You may work from home, or you may alternate your time between home and your place of work.

If you work in manufacturing, are you relying more on cloud-based technologies to perform your job? For many, accessing data via the cloud has become a necessity for collaboration.

In a recent survey of 318 manufacturing respondents by Harvard Business Review Analytics Services (HBR-AS), 86% say cloud technologies are a critical component of their operations today. 90% say that employees are in favor of a hybrid or remote work environment. Real-world experiences have strongly influenced attitudes about both remote work and the importance of cloud as a key enabling technology in manufacturing.

During the pandemic many companies have had to find new, effective ways to work and needed new tools. This resulted in a dramatic turn toward the adoption of cloud technologies. We estimate a decade’s worth of cloud technology adoption—and the remote collaboration, distributed workforce efficiency, and global visibility it brings—has taken place over the past 19 months.

Organizations that were already taking steps toward the cloud and digital transformation before the pandemic have fared well, with those that quickly moved to the cloud a close second. Organizations playing catch-up on the cloud have struggled the most. The good news, according to this new research from HBR-AS, is that cloud technology is helping manufacturers become more flexible and efficient.

You can learn more about what’s shaping manufacturers’ strategies in our upcoming webinar featuring guest speaker, HBR-AS Managing Director, Alex Clemente, who will share findings from this survey in a lively discussion with Detlev Reicheneder, Senior Director of Industry and Business Strategy, Design and Manufacturing at Autodesk.

Join us for the live webinar
New Study Reveals Why Manufacturers are Moving to the Cloud
Tuesday, February 22
8:30 AM PT | 11:30 AM ET | 4:30 PM BST | 5:30 PM CEST

We look forward to seeing you there!

Featured Links

Christa Prokos

Christa is a product marketing manager at Autodesk. She researches and writes about product development strategies and technologies, including data management and product lifecycle management. Outside work, you can find Christa gravitating toward engineers at social gatherings.

0 Comments

'